Grey's Anatomy: Stages Of Grief

It's well documented that the five stages of grief are denial, anger, bargaining, depression and then finally, acceptance.

After last week's episode of Grey's Anatomy and Derek's very unexpected and tragic death, I think we can all agree we suffered the denial and anger stages pretty immediately. Shonda Rhimes was eviscerated on Twitter as a result.

As I reached the bargaining stage, I began scouring the internet for any possible explanation of why this had happened. Instead, I found a sea of likeminded people who were also trying to dry their eyes and to decide if this was worse than George's death (answer = no).

During my "morning after" research, I found these three articles, all clearly authored by fellow heartbroken Grey's fans:

Reading these didn't bring Derek back, but they did help.

True to the stages, I have now moved into depression. The depression has set in for two reasons: first, I can't believe Derek is really gone, and second, I am in New York City for work today and Friday, so I won't be able to watch this week's episode and share my thoughts here with you during our usual catch up on Friday mornings.

Please forgive me and accept a double recap next week. We're supposed to move on to acceptance, right?

*Image courtesy of @GreysABC on Instagram.


I just read the Buzzfeed death ranking and got choked up multiple times. Shonda has complete control over my emotions and it's not okay. God, I miss Lexie.

Right? That article reminded me of all the times she ripped our hearts out.

Log in to comment


Molly Galler

Welcome to Pop.Bop.Shop. My name is Molly. I’m a foodie, fashionista, pop culture addict and serious travel junkie. I’m a lifelong Bostonian obsessed with frozen confections, outdoor patios, Mindy Kaling, reality television, awards shows, tropical vacations, snail mail and my birthday.

More from Molly

Pop.Bop.Shop. In the News